Relevant TASC Documentation

The Office of Tasmanian Assessment, Standards and Certification (TASC) has broader information regarding courses, assessment and certification.

All current policies can be viewed from the Policies section on the TASC website.

Levels of Complexity

TASC assigns senior secondary courses with a complexity level ranging from Level 1 to Level 4 with 4 being the highest level of complexity.

TASC-accredited Level 3 and Level 4 courses may contribute to the calculation of an Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR).

The levels of complexity for Level 1 to Level 4 are taken from the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF). The AQF is the national policy for regulated qualifications in Australian education and training. It incorporates the qualifications from each education and training sector into a single comprehensive national qualifications framework.

Levels of Complexity – Tasmanian Senior Secondary Education

Senior Secondary Accreditation Framework

The development and certification of senior secondary courses is vital in ensuring that Tasmanian students have the opportunity to meet their potential through course provision that keeps options open, provides multiple pathways in and out of courses, and meets student and community expectations. The Senior Secondary Accreditation Framework supports the Office of TASC in fulfilling their role in accrediting Tasmanian Senior Secondary Courses.

Everyday Adult Standards Policy

The TASC Everyday Adult Standards policy has been published on the TASC website. Schools may find this document useful to support students in preparing for an Everyday Adult Standards test. 

Work Requirements Policy

The Work Requirements Policy outlines TASC’s position on work requirements included in TASC-accredited course documents and supports course developers to identify and articulate appropriate work requirements for proposed TASC accredited courses.  The policy also enables schools and teachers to have a clear understanding of work requirements to inform the setting of assessment items.  There is also a glossary of work requirement and external assessment types to support a consistent approach to the use of this terminology across the state. 

Criteria, Criterion Elements and Standards Policy

The Criteria, Criterion Assessment and Standards Policy signifies a new approach to the structure and formatting of criteria, criterion elements and standards. Criteria, for new courses being developed, will include additional detail called Criterion Elements, which specify the characteristics of the criterion.  Attachment 1, within the Criteria, Criterion Elements and Standards Policy document, highlights this enhancement and provides a breakdown of the different components of a criterion. Teachers and students new to criterion-based assessment may find this document beneficial. The policy will also support course developers to identify and articulate appropriate criteria, criterion elements and standards for inclusion in proposed TASC-accredited courses.